The screening and vetting process for visa applicants is a vital step in ensuring that dangerous individuals do not enter the U.S. Here are seven things you need to know!

  1. The official name is Executive Order 13769 (Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States)

  2. The order temporarily bars the citizens of Sudan, Syria, Yemen, Iran, Libya, and Somalia from entering the United States for 90 days until U.S. agencies can ensure that the visa screening processes from these countries are sufficient to ensure national security. Iraq was taken off the list following commitments from the Iraqi government that the U.S. will be able to screen and vet all Iraqi nationals who want to enter the U.S.


  3. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) will spend the first 20 days of the travel ban reviewing the security and identity information that each of the six terrorism-prone countries provides the U.S. in the visa process. These countries will then have 50 days to comply with suggestions made by the DHS to update or improve the information that they provide.

  4. Foreign nationals from the six countries (Libya, Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen) who did not have a valid visa by January 27th are not eligible to enter the U.S. while the temporary travel suspension from their country remains in effect. The order does NOT apply to green-card holders or legal permanent residents.


  5. The order suspends the admission of refugees from all countries for 120 days and caps the annual admission of refugees to 50,000.

  6. The order will go into effect on March 16th.


  7. The Executive Order follows an order signed by the President on January 27th, which is currently held up in the ultra-liberal 9th Circuit Court. President Trump’s latest order will certainly be challenged in the courts, as well.


Click here to donate to Secure America Now and help us continue to educate America voters on important national security issues. 

Click here to read the Executive Order in its entirety.